The Amniocentesis ~ 21 Weeks

Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Today is the day we are scheduled to undergo the amnio.  Our appointment is scheduled for 3:15pm at Maternal Fetal Medicine.  My emotions were all over the place this morning.  I couldn’t convince my body to stay on the treadmill for more than 5 minutes at the gym, because it gave me too much time to think and focus on the severity of the procedure I was about to undergo, and the health of our Little Sephora…Yes.  That’s her name.  Sephora Angeline.  My husband chose this name for her nearly 1 month ago when he saw the name of a makeup store while we were walking around our local mall.  As soon as we passed the store, I knew what the look on his face meant.  He looked right at me, eyes bright and glittery with excitement.  I looked right at him and exclaimed, “NO!”  “REALLY?”  “NO!”  A week later, while getting ready to head to church, he screamed from the bathroom, “Sephora Angeline!  Get down here!”  I saw his head peak around the corner with the biggest smile on his face.  I hadn’t laughed so hard in such a long time.  At 19 weeks, we knew her name would indeed be Sephora Angeline.  After learning that something was wrong with our precious Sephora, we looked up the meaning of her name.  Little did we know Sephora Angeline literally means, “Beautiful Angel.”

The amnio wasn’t nearly as awful as I thought it was going to be.  We had a very brief ultrasound to determine a good area away from the baby to insert the long but thin needle to grab some fluid.  As the needle entered through my belly and into my uterus, I was really focusing on remembering to breathe as I watched the reaction of our Little Sephora through the ultrasound on the TV screen in front of me.  She usually is very calm and curled up in a little ball with her feet directly in front of her face.  As soon as the needle went in, she freaked out! She kept stretching her legs and moving frantically while this “foreign invader” was in her space.  As soon as the needle was removed, she calmed down.  Dr. Bayliss informed us that we’d have some answers within 48 hours as to why our baby has such severe abnormalities.  Until then, we wait and enjoy our pregnancy and our baby girl’s movements.

2 thoughts on “The Amniocentesis ~ 21 Weeks

  1. Wishing you peace to bring comfort, courage to face the days ahead, and loving memories to hold forever in your heart. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

Leave a Reply

