Another Ultrasound with Unchanged Results

Wednesday, March 21, 2012 ~ 24 Weeks 1 Day

We went to Maternal Fetal Medicine for another ultrasound.  We were so excited to be able to see how Little Miss Sephora has grown, and I’m especially excited to see her precious face again!  We’ve been praying for our precious little miracle and big changes because nothing is impossible for God…but our high hopes were quickly thrown back under the bus.  The ventricles and fluid in her head have definitely gotten bigger, and they will continue to get bigger and fill with fluid as she grows.  Her eye development remains unchanged.  We did discover her heart defect is actually quite common in “typical” babies.  If she wasn’t affected with the Trisomy 13, her heart could be fixed surgically and she would more than likely survive.

After hearing this news, we came home and of course I was completely sad.  I really want to start buying things for her, but I can’t.  I can’t set up her room.  I can’t buy a crib.  As perfect as she is inside of me, I can’t do anything to prepare for her arrival.  All I can do is to love her.  She now weighs 1 pound 2 ounces and is currently in the 5th percentile as far as her growth.  We were told that she will continue to follow this slow growth until she is born.  This is very typical of babies with Trisomy 13.  She’ll be small and she’ll be adorable!

One thing we learned about her today…I think she may be a little camera shy!

4 thoughts on “Another Ultrasound with Unchanged Results

  1. I am so sorry for your loss. I search the web all the time for hope. I am seven months pregnant with a baby we never thought would happen. We are doing an amino Nov. 7th. They think she has trisomy 13. She too is following fifth percentile growth rate, has a heart defect, kidney fluid and fluid around her bowels. I read your story and it saddens me for your family. She was beautiful. I love how her personality came right through those pictures. I’m so sorry for your loss.

    • I pray your precious baby does not have T13…please feel free to continue to follow Sephora’s story, and use me as a resource or a “friend” to lean on through your experience. We miss Sephora, and we celebrate her life. Best wishes to you.

Leave a Reply

