Our Battle With Preeclampsia

Friday, May 18, 2012 ~ 32 Weeks 3 Days ~ Part 1

After dinner on Thursday evening, I had the most awful heartburn ever which made breathing very difficult.  From 10:30pm until 5am, I was up walking around the house just trying to stay calm and breathe easier.  I thought just maybe I’d gotten a small case of food poisoning.  At 5am, I finally was able to lay down and slept until 8am.  I got out of bed and walked around because I was feeling better, but not 100%.  Chris decided I should call my doctors just as a precausion, which I did…and they got me in for an appointment at 1pm.  I had laid on the couch most of the morning until it was time for my appointment.  I even tried to eat a little bit of lunch, but for whatever reason, I wasn’t able to eat more than 2 bites.

My brother took me in to the doctor’s office and waited with me until they called me back.  They tested my urine, checked my weight, and took my blood pressure.  Very quickly I’d learned I had severe amounts of protein in my urine, I’d gained another 5 pounds, and my pressure was 160/112!  All I knew at this point was, NONE OF THIS WAS GOOD NEWS!!!  The midwife came in and said she was going to send me to triage to be monitored further.  We headed to triage, heard Baby Sephora’s heartbeat on the monitors for the few hours we were there, and had blood work done.  When the blood work results came back, the nurse looked at me with a very concerned look in her eyes and told me we were staying.  The pressure I had been feeling in my back and chest, was actually caused by liver pain.  My liver enzymes were through the roof, which is why my protein levels were so high.  This also caused my blood platelets to go down and my pressure to skyrocket.  They gave me an IV to run magnesium through me so my pressure wouldn’t get so high that it would cause me to have seizures.  The side effects from the magnesium were not fun.  It made me feel like I had the flu…I was really hot, nauseus, really puffy from fluid, and sleepy while it was in…and I had to have it running through me for 48 hours!!!  Needless to say, I was not very happy.

At 8pm, they came to my room and did another round of blood work to see if the magnesium had caused a change for the better in any of my numbers.  We got the results back at 9:30pm and everything in my body was getting worse!  We were notified that we’d be taken back for an emergency c-section, because the only cure for preeclampsia is delivery.  I immediatley looked at Chris and cried.  We’re only 32 weeks.  Her lungs aren’t ready.  I AM NOT READY!!!  I didn’t have a choice.  I was really sick due to the preeclampsia, and this was going to be her birthday.

Jeremiah 1:5 ESV

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you; I appointed you a prophet to the nations.”

2 thoughts on “Our Battle With Preeclampsia

  1. I read your story from the beginning and you and Chris are super strong, I was diagnosed with preeclampsia at 37 weeks and I got induced, I couldn’t imagine having Emma at 32 weeks!

Leave a Reply

