Coming Home

Thursday, May 24, 2012

After 7 days in the hospital, we finally got to come home today! Chris was at home letting out our dog when the doctor came by to let me know that I was well enough to leave today. After he said I was healthy enough to go home, I asked him what time I could actually be leaving. He looked at me and said I could be out within the hour! I sat straight up, asked for my paperwork, jumped in the shower, and waited for the nurse to give me the go ahead to bust out! One of our friends, Diana, came by to visit before we left. Her wonderful husband is a great pastor, and he performed our wedding ceremony. She shared with us how much Sephora’s story has touched her life, and how much she has enjoyed watching us grow through our journey with our little Sephora. It’s so nice to hear all of the wonderful stories from our friends of how our little Sephora has helped to strengthen their faith and relationship with God. Another friend shared with us, that she didn’t understand how we couldn’t be mad at God for giving us the hand we were dealt. But if we are able to walk through our pregnancy while holding onto God’s hands, then why should she even question the one thing that has helped us to make it through? She feels now that her relationship with God is much stronger now than it has ever been. Broken relationships with her family and old friends are being healed. Our little Sephora did that for her…and I now understand her purpose. I understand why we were chosen to carry her and to love her. Not only has Sephora changed our lives, but she has and still continues to change the lives of those that surround us. We are hearing stories of the lives of people that we’ve never even met, who Sephora’s brief time on earth has touched.

Dr. Habecker, the doctor who performed my c-section, also stopped by to visit before we left the hospital. He just wanted to send his condolences and see how I was feeling both physically and emotionally. He also shared a beautiful story with us. He looked at me and said, “I’ll never forget Sephora’s birth because of you and your husband’s beautiful singing to her in the OR. Thank you for allowing me to be a part of that intimate time with her. It truly was a very touching and emotional moment that I’m thankful to have witnessed.” It melted my heart to hear him say this to us.

We arrived home at 12:30pm. The first thing I did was look at the hard work my husband and our florist, Jodi, had done on our garden while I was in the hospital. Chris walked me around and showed me all of the different flowers they had planted to welcome me home. I then made my way over to Sephora’s Garden. It was a very surreal moment. I stood in awe of their beautiful work and the symbolism behind all of the blossoms planted for her. I sobbed for a few minutes as I stood over her garden. Chris walked over and held me for a while as I took in all of the emotions of that moment. I had been looking forward to seeing her garden from the moment she was born. I don’t know if Sephora’s Garden will ever be finished…like our love for her will continue to grow, so will her garden. I’m thankful to be home today. I’m thankful for the love and light that was used to prepare Sephora’s Garden. I’m thankful for all of the thoughts, prayers, and words of encouragement from our friends, family, and blog followers that we’ve never met. There will be times when this journey will not be easy, but we are comforted in knowing there are so many people that care about us and continue to pray.

Mark 9:36–37
Then he put a little child among them. Taking the child in his arms, he said to them, “Anyone who welcomes a little child like this on my behalf welcomes me, and anyone who welcomes me welcomes not only me but also my Father who sent me.”

Leave a Reply

