Sunshine and Roses

Wednesday, May 29, 2012

Today is the day the funeral home will be bringing Sephora’s ashes home. Apparently they were busy over the weekend and didn’t have time to come by the house yesterday…so the burden comes today. I feel more prepared today than I was yesterday. One of my voice students came by for a lesson this morning, which I wanted to cancel but opted to stick it out, praying it would take my mind to a happier place. We had a great lesson today, so that put me in a pretty decent mood! I sat down on the couch after the lesson, and Chris called to check up on me. He’s found a new love of gardening and is helping our good friend Jodi with her landscaping business…since he’s got the big muscles!!!

On the days that aren’t so good, or even when we need a smile and a laugh, we enjoy watching the footage from our wedding last September. I know I’ve shared our story in a previous post, but as I sit here and reminisce about that day, I can actually breathe. I feel like I’ve been holding my breath since being admitted to the hospital on Friday, May 18…the day that changed our lives forever. Thinking about the crazy weather we experienced from Hurricane Lee the week of our wedding, and then thinking of the sun finally bursting through the clouds on our wedding day, it reminds me that every tragedy, every rainstorm, every tear, every instance that knocks the wind out of you…the sun does truly shine again! The birds will sing in the morning. The rainbow can be viewed after the storm. The flowers will bloom again. The fireflies will cover the fields in the evening. The stars and moon will twinkle and shine in the night. When the sky is clear, we can actually see Sephora’s star among the rest. My aunt and her boyfriend purchased a star in Sephora’s name through the International Star Registry when she was born. Not only is Sephora beaming down at us from Heaven, but her star will forever shine in the Heavens too!

Although today may be difficult, I can call it a good day. The sun will shine again tomorrow, and my little angel is wrapped in the arms of all of our family and friends up above. Yes, today is a beautiful day with my Beautiful Angel. My Sephora Angeline.

“…Weeping may last through the night, but joy comes in the morning.” Psalm 30:5

5 thoughts on “Sunshine and Roses

  1. you are such a blessing, just by sharing your story, your heart and your joy even in deep sadness….May God grow deeper in you as you lean into Him!!!! I am continuing in prayer for you all.

  2. Thank you so much Abi! There are so many fantastic scriptures on the power of prayer…this one comes to mind for me regarding how you all hold me up in prayer to Him “In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express” (Romans 8:26). Thank you for allowing the Spirit through you to intercede for me during this time, when sometimes I can not find the proper words.

  3. Very insightful, Bethany! I agree, the Sun is ALWAYS there, even on those days we can’t see it behind the clouds.

Leave a Reply

