Our Angel in Heaven…1 month today

1 month ago today, I was being closely monitored in the hospital because I had been diagnosed with severe preeclampsia and HELLP Syndrome.  I remember my doctor coming into my room to tell me I needed to have an emergency c-section, because my health was getting worse.  The c-section was the only thing that would help to make my body get better.  Sephora was born at 10:25pm.  3 pounds 9 ounces.  16 inches long.  12 fingers.  10 toes.  Curly dark brown hair.  Her daddy’s nose.  The tiniest little whimper.  She was absolutely perfect!  Unfortunately, the Trisomy 13 that she was diagnosed with 3 months before she was born, took her away from us 4 1/2 hours later.  Her extra chromosome and extra pinkies made her extra special in our eyes.

Despite today marking 1 month from Sephora’s birth, it has been a good day.  I looked at our flowers in Sephora’s Garden, cleaned up around the house, and I even sang a little bit…(which felt incredible might I add).  Even though I sang to Sephora every day, I haven’t rehearsed any of my operatic arias since before we got married last September.  I forgot how great it feels to be in good voice, and to be able to belt out these dramatic songs like I was on stage again.  I think it’s definitely time I brushed up on some new pieces and started looking into auditions again.

Shortly after we received the Trisomy 13 diagnosis, I was given the information of another mother who lives about an hour from me.  Her precious little Violet passed away last November from Trisomy 13 as well.  At this point, we have only spoken through email and over the phone.  Today, she came to my house to finally meet for the first time, exchange photos of our precious babies, share our stories, and she even brought a homemade dinner for Chris and I tonight!  It’s so nice to be able to get together with women who have experienced similar situations as your own.  It was also refreshing to meet a woman who experienced the exact same situation as us.  I’m reminded yet again, that God puts people in your life to help you to walk through challenges, tragedies, and celebrations!

1 Peter 5:9-10   Resist him, firm in your faith, knowing that the same kinds of suffering are being experienced by your brotherhood throughout the world.  And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you.

One thought on “Our Angel in Heaven…1 month today

  1. So wonderful to meet you and your beautiful family. Thank you for sharing Sephora with us! We’ll always be here for whatever you might need!

Leave a Reply

