Because I Knew You

I was teaching one of my voice students this weekend, and was reminded of a beautiful song that absolutely touched my heart.  “For Good” from Wicked.  I have come to realize this song actually embodies Sephora’s life and story, from the moment she was created, through the 4 1/2 hours she lived due to Trisomy 13.  Her story of life and love has touched the hearts of many, and inspired so many more.  We each were created for a specific purpose.  Each of us has this innate desire to discover our life’s purpose and to share it with others.  Sephora has forever left an imprint on my heart not because she was my daughter, but because she has inspired me to help others.  She’s taught me that I am in no way in control of every aspect of my life, or can I ever be.  Her life has challenged me to be better.  She has challenged me to sing again.  She has challenged me to be humble and compassionate.  She has challenged me to be vulnerable enough to share her story to serve God’s life purpose for her–To live life.  To know, share, and experience love.  To have hope, faith, and experience the peace that passes all understanding.

I’ve heard it said that people come into our lives for a reason, bringing something we must learn.  And we are led to those who help us most to grow, if we let them, and we help them in return.  Well, I don’t know if I believe that’s true.  But I know I’m who I am today because I knew you… Like a comet pulled from orbit as it passes the sun.  Like a stream that meets a boulder halfway through the wood.  Who can say if I’ve been changed for the better?  But because I knew you, I have been changed for good.  It well may be that we will never meet again in this lifetime.  So let me say before we part.  So much of me is made from what I learned from you.  You’ll be with me like a hand print on my heart.  And now whatever way our stories end, I know you have re-written mine by being my friend… Like a ship blown from its mooring by a wind off the sea.  Like a seed dropped by a sky bird in a distant wood.  Who can say if I’ve been changed for the better?  But because I knew you, I have been changed for good.

Sephora’s story has forever changed my life, and will continue to shape me forever.

“For whatever was written was given to us for our learning, that through patience and comfort of the scriptures we might have hope. ” (Romans 15:4)

Leave a Reply

