The Right Place At The Right Time

Yesterday was Sephora’s 2 month birthday.  I was a bit down, so I met one of my girlfriends for lunch and about an hour to just socialize, which was absolutely wonderful.  Before we left and went our separate ways, she handed me a white box wrapped in a pink tulle.  Inside was a little plaque with a butterfly on it that read, “Life is not measured by the number of breaths you take, but by the moments that take your breath away.”  A great reminder of Sephora’s wonderful story.  Although her life was short, she has changed the lives of many.  My friend also gave me a necklace with charms inside the box, with an Angel’s wing and Sephora’s name.  Kimberly has been so wonderful to Chris and me.  Everything she has given to us as a memento to and for Sephora, throughout our entire pregnancy and after Sephora was born, has been so powerful for us.  I wish I possessed the spiritual gift of discernment that she does.  She just understands in her own powerful way what could be soothing and comforting to us, and she gets it right every single time.

After lunch, I had a few hours to kill before I needed to be at work, so I headed to the mall.  Thanks to Memaw, (my maternal grandma), I had many gift cards left over from Christmas to do a little bit of shopping!  I usually don’t enjoy shopping for myself, but seeing as I was in a pretty great mood, I took advantage of it!  The last place I stopped was the bookstore.  I picked up Nicholas Sparks’ newest book, and continued to walk around the store.  I passed by and then walked through the section about pregnancy.  I was drawn to one of Anne Geddes photo books, so I grabbed it and walked to the farthest corner of the store so I could thumb through it in peace.  Anyway, a few minutes after that, a woman with 2 young kids and a sales clerk walked passed me, and headed for the farthest bookshelf in the whole store.  You’ll never believe which one that was…THE SECTION ABOUT GRIEF AND LOSS.  Me, being the nosey person I am, tried to eavesdrop to see what exactly they were looking for.  I heard the woman mention something about a child.  My heart started pounding, my face turned beat red, and I started to shake.  When they walked out of the aisle, I spoke up and asked if they were looking for books about the loss of a child.  The woman said her brother and sister-in-law had just lost a baby on May 1.  I began with my story…”I lost my baby 2 months ago today.”  I quickly called Chris to get the names of some of the books we’d read that we absolutely found helpful and gave the list to her.  We continued to talk for a bit, and she had shared that this baby had a horrible diagnosis of Trisomy 13.  “That’s what my baby had!”  I think we spoke for nearly an hour about our situations, how Chris and I are coping, and how she could help her brother and sister-in-law, (from my perspective).  I gave her my information and asked her to please share it with her family.  If there is one thing I’ve learned through this whole experience, is God puts people in our lives to help us cope, learn, laugh, cry, grieve, and walk through our experiences while helping each other grow all at the same time.  I was led to look through that book in the far corner of the store, not knowing I would meet Melissa, and guide her to a great spiritual based book to give to her sister-in-law.  I walked away with the satisfaction that I had been used by the same gracious God who has been carrying my husband and me to help another grieving family going through the same exact situaltion.  I hope this woman chooses to contact me.  It has been so important for us as a couple to walk through our pain with others that understand.

“In the same way, let your light shine before people in such a way that they will see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.” Matthew 5:16 (International Standard Version @2008)

Leave a Reply

