You’ll Never Walk Alone

“When you walk through a storm hold your head up high and don’t be afraid of the dark.  At the end of the storm is a golden sky and the sweet silver song of a lark.  Walk on through the wind.  Walk on through the rain, ‘though your dreams be tossed and blown.  Walk on.  Walk on with hope in your heart, and you’ll never walk alone.  You’ll never walk alone!” -Carousel

Even before we received our first baby’s Trisomy 13 diagnosis, I sang to her every day.  Seeing as both my husband and I have degrees in music, singing is a passion that we both have.  Music calms the soul and comforts the subconscious.  “You’ll Never Walk Alone” is a beautiful piece of music I learned my freshman year of high school.  Although I learned and performed this piece, I never really understood the meaning of the song completely.  It’s about more than never walking alone.  It’s a journey through a struggle of life.  Through Sephora’s life, this song now has meaning.  Our world was turned upside down at our 20 week ultrasound, when we learned Sephora likely would not survive after birth.  We walked through the storm.  We’ve seen the golden sky through Sephora’s story and the lives she continues to touch.  Through everything we’ve experienced and the love that Sephora knew, she’ll always be walking with me.  Whether she is in the pendant around my neck, the whisper in the breeze, the butterflies floating over top the flowers, the song of the birds, or the chirp of the crickets.  I can feel her beautiful smile warm my heart and encourage me to keep living and keep loving all things, as I loved her.

John 16:32-33 ESV

Behold, the hour is coming, indeed it has come, when you will be scattered, each to his own home, and will leave me alone. Yet I am not alone, for the Father is with me. I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”

Leave a Reply

