A Spring Arrival!

baby boy at 16 weeks

Hello my faithful blog followers!  I’m sorry I have been away for so long.  After writing about Infant Loss Awareness Month in October, I took a little bit of a break from blogging about Sephora’s story.  I realized, through a new reader’s message today, that many are still reading Sephora’s story.  I was reminded how important our little Sephora Angeline’s story is, and realize once again that her story must continue.  I must write not only to remember her, but so others may learn how we dealt with the diagnosis of Trisomy 13 at 20 weeks, and then meeting our precious baby face to face for our beautiful “Hello, Goodbye!”

I now officially can announce to the world that our precious little Sephora in Heaven, has hand-picked a baby brother who is now bumping, tumbling, and kicking inside my ever-growing baby bump!  We currently are 23 weeks and 5 days pregnant.  Our doctors have told us numerous times, through every ultrasound, that he looks perfect!  This bouncing baby boy is coming home with us this spring.  Chris and I are ecstatic!!!  Although we will always miss and grieve for Sephora, we find comfort in knowing she is being sung to by many of our family and friends that have left this world already.  It is also extremely comforting to know that Sephora’s siblings will have a guardian angel watching over them at all times.  God’s hand is watching over this little boy, and we are enjoying every single second of this pregnancy.  I’ve learned he loves cold cereal at any time of the day.  Like his big sister, he responds to my singing as well.

As we continue on this journey, sharing Sephora’s story and ultimately our family’s story, I pray you all will follow along.  Whether our story contains tears of sadness or tears of joy, giggles, laughing out loud, or a very sentimental moment, we hope that you continue to share your thoughts with us as well as sharing Sephora’s story and blog with others.  Life does go on.  We choose to live it in the best capacity that we are able.  We learn through every experience that life is short and life is beautiful.  Cherish every moment and every breath you are given.  God Bless!  ~Bethany

Psalm 127:3
Children are a gift from the LORD; they are a reward from him.

5 thoughts on “A Spring Arrival!

  1. Congratulations to you and Chris! Sephora is your families angel watching over and her little brother is so lucky to have her watching over him. I wish you guys nothing but the best in everything. Thank you for sharing your story and journey. I think about you guys often and pray for you all.

  2. I came across your blog today when I was searching google for level II ultrasound at 20 weeks. I am having one done Monday because one of my screening tests came back positive or high risk for DS. I am also 20 weeks and once I started reading your story I couldn’t stop. I have read most of your entries since 9:30am this morning when I got to work! You are such an amazing and strong person! I don’t know what we will be told on Monday when we go but I know that I accept whatever God has planned. Your strong faith is so inspiring and Sephora and your little boy are so blessed to have a mother like you.

    • I pray your level II scan was much better than you were expecting. Thank you for taking the time to read Sephora’s story, and please share with anyone who would benefit. God Bless.

  3. I just came across your beautiful blog this afternoon and I am compelled to thank you for it. I am the Bereavement Coordinator at a hospice. Last year we were blessed to have cared for a dear little fellow with Trisomy 13. Your description of your journey and your delight in your pregnancy and your time with your angel Sephora really made my day. You are a great mama. I have three healthy children and I am personally and professionally in awe of the parents who are dealt a hand like yours yet retain their joy and faith. Thank you for taking the time to share your story. It is one I will not forgt.

Leave a Reply

