Sephora’s Baby Brother, Miles (Part 1)

Hello my faithful blog followers!  I have fallen off the blog wagon for a bit, but I am back!  Now…to catch everyone up!

Baby Miles was due on Wednesday, May 1, 2013.  May 1st came and went.  Miles certainly had plans of his own.  At this point, I had not gained any weight in approximately 6 weeks.  (I gained 20 pounds during this entire pregnancy).  My doctors and midwives didn’t seem to feel that was an issue because he certainly was still growing!  Unlike my pregnancy with Sephora, I did not experience ANY problems with my blood pressure, swelling, or excessive weight gain.  I have to say, this was a relatively easy pregnancy.

38 weeks

38 weeks

Around 38 weeks is when I started to get pretty uncomfortable.  Miles’ butt and feet were wedged so far up into my ribs, I would walk around with an icepack on top of my belly just to numb the area.  Every day that we got closer to his due date, I would nest even more obsessively.  His clothes were washed and folded.  His crib was set up and made for him to sleep in it, even though he probably wouldn’t be sleeping in it for a few months.  His bassinet and blankets were laid out ready to swaddle him and keep him warm.  But still, Miles just wasn’t ready.

40 weeks

40 weeks

I decided at 40 weeks 2 days that I would stop working and just try to rest…or not rest!  My husband and I were trying everything at this point to get me to go into labor naturally.  If I did not go into labor on my own, I would have to have a c-section.  Because Sephora was born by c-section, they could not induce me because of the 1% chance of my uterus rupturing open where my scar is.  Apparently, your uterus is much weaker at the incision sight after a previous c-section.  Our c-section was scheduled originally for Wednesday, May 8 at 41 weeks gestation.  We convinced my doctor to push us back a few days, just so I had an opportunity to have a VBAC (vaginal birth after cesarean).  It then was scheduled for Friday, May 10.

On Wednesday, May 8, my husband decided to stay home from work to spend some time with me, and to again try everything we could to get labor started!  We walked 2 miles every day for 2 weeks straight, (which never worked), but Chris insisted we walk.  We walked 4 miles that day!  I looked at him after we arrived back home and told him, “I will NOT walk any more until this baby comes!”  I had been having irregular Braxton Hicks contractions for over a week at this point.  After our walk however, these non-painful “Braxton Hicks” contractions were coming every 4-6 minutes.  My husband made me call my doctor because these contractions were consistent for over 2 hours.  After speaking with the hospital midwife on staff that night, she told me to come in to be monitored so we could really see what was going on.

Habakkuk 2:3  – This vision is for a future time.  It describes the end, and it will be fulfilled.  If it seems slow in coming, wait patiently, for it will surely take place.  It will not be delayed.

2 thoughts on “Sephora’s Baby Brother, Miles (Part 1)

  1. I have read your entire story, you and your husband are amazing, strong people.. Your baby girl so beautiful .. I can’t wait to see your baby boy that Sephora sent down to you.

    An angel in the book of life wrote down my. Aby’s birth and whispered as she closed the book ” too beautiful for earth”

Leave a Reply

