Sephora’s Baby Brother, Miles (Part 3)

I started pushing at 12:30pm, an hour after I was told I was fully dilated–this was because Miles’ heart rate stabilized and I didn’t have the urge to push.  We asked for a mirror so I could watch my progress, and witness our precious rainbow baby’s birth!  I must say, watching my son be born from my own body really is a miracle.  So many people have said the process of creating a baby is a miracle.  I never believed them when I would hear this, because I always felt like that’s just something “we are taught to say.”  Just like many people make comments about just wanting a healthy baby versus a specific gender.  I completely understand this now!  From the creation of Sephora, learning that one extra teeny tiny chromosome had managed to penetrate into her DNA (Trisomy 13), that this chromosome would in fact take our precious first born from us only 4 1/2 hours after she was born…life really is a miracle.  The millions of divisions of cells that have to split at the right time, in the correct way, it’s amazing how many of us actually exist on Earth.  When Sephora passed away, all we ever wanted was a healthy baby to bring into our home.  This was about to happen on May 9!

We started pushing shortly after 12:30pm on May 9, 2013.  When I say we, I mean we.  My husband, brother, and parents were in the room with me, and I swear everyone in the room held their breath and pushed with me.  We pushed for 41 minutes.  I hear for a first time vaginal delivery, that’s pretty quick!  (I’ll toot my own horn now!)  After the midwife safely delivered his head and shoulders, I reached down, pulled him out, and laid him on my chest!  (Cue water works!)

Immediately after Miles was born, Daddy leans down for a kiss

Immediately after Miles was born, Daddy leans down for a kiss

Daddy cutting the umbilical cord

Daddy cutting the umbilical cord

Baby Miles 7lbs. 9oz. 20.5in.

Baby Miles
7lbs. 9oz. 20.5in.

102_0721

Taking all of him in

Taking all of him in

John 1:16 – From the fullness of His grace, we have received one blessing after another.

One thought on “Sephora’s Baby Brother, Miles (Part 3)

  1. It was the most beautiful vision I have ever seen. As Mothers we deliver our babies, however to actually watch that little miracle arrive was spectacular!! I can’t describe the feelings other than WOW!! Thank You Bethany N Chris for sharing this experience with us!
    Grampa And Nana

Leave a Reply

